Nigerians Among Top 50 Contenders for $1 million Global Teacher Prize



Two teachers from Nigeria have been included in the top 50 shortlist for the Varkey Foundation’s Global Teacher Prize 2018.

They are Itodo Anthony and Ayodele Odeogbola.

Now in its fourth year, the US$1 million award is the largest prize of its kind.

Four other African countries made it to the shortlist.

Marjirie Brown and Wendy Horn from South Africa, Catherine Nakabugo from Uganda.

Abdikadir Ismail from Kenya and Sitsofe Enyonam Anku from Ghana.

They were selected from over 30,000 nominations and applications from 173 countries around the world.

The Global Teacher Prize was set up by the Varkey Foundation, founded by Indian billionaire Sunny Varkey.

The Prize is to recognize one exceptional teacher who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession.

As well as to shine a spotlight on the important role teachers play in society.

By unearthing thousands of stories of heroes that have transformed young people’s lives, the prize hopes to bring to life the exceptional work of millions of teachers all over the world.

Ayodele Odeogbola

Teaches STEM Education and Global Studies at Abeokuta Grammar School.

He uses collaboration, critical thinking, creativity and communication, combined with innovation and new technology to transform teaching as he explores personalized learning opportunities with specially chosen gifted students acting as group leaders and reviewing every school activity.

He has brought technology industry experts into his classroom, and linked his class using Skype and social media to peers in schools in India and Lebanon.

Itodo Anthony

He studied Petroleum Engineering at the University of Port Harcourtand has a masters degree from Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh Campus.

He teaches at Gateway Excel College Otukpo, Benue State.

Teaches the virtues of justice, institutional soundness, community service, value creation, among others, all elements from other cultures that can help create an ideal value system among Nigerian youth.

In May 2017 he founded a community-based organisation for youth – New Frontiers Youth Forum.

It welcomes membership from 13-35 year olds with the aim of raising young leaders to act as positive change agents within the community.

In October the Forum commissioned a community library as the locale had no library where students and others could study in comfort or have access to affordable resources.

The top 50 shortlisted teachers are narrowed down to 10 finalists by a committee and the results are announced in February, 2018.

The winner will then be chosen from the final 10 finalists by the Global Teacher Prize Academy.

All 10 finalists will be invited to Dubai for the Award ceremony at the Global Education and Skills Forum (GESF) on March 18, 2018, where the winner will be announced live on stage.

See the full shortlist of 50 below:

GermánAlberto Soto, Escuela Técnica Fray Luis Beltrán, Argentina

Silvana Andrea Carnicero Sanguinetti, Escuela Técnica Nº 33, Argentina

Sarah Mathews, Brisbane Bayside State College, Australia

Eddie Woo, Cherrybrook Technology High School, Australia

Wilbur Klein, Tjuntjuntjara Remote Community School, Australia

Koen Timmers, CVO De Verdieping, – online school, Belgium

Diego Mahfouz Faria Lima, Escola Municipal Darcy Ribeiro, Brasil

Rubens Ferronato, State School Dom Pedro II, Brazil

Joe Grabowski, St. John Catholic School, Canada

Marcela Lissette Henríquez Aravena, Liceo Polivalente Carlos Montané Castro, Chile

Jhon Alexander Echeverri Acosta, El Salado Educational Institution, Colombia

Luis Miguel Bermudez Gutierrez, Colegio Gerardo Paredes IED, Colombia

Carlos Enrique Sánchez Santamaria, Instituto Técnico Industrial San Juan Bosco, Colombia

Jukka Sinnemäki, Jyväskylä Christian School, Finland

Patrick Saoula, Collège les Bréguières, France

Sitsofe Enyonam Anku, Meagasa Mathematics Academy, Ghana

Pradeep Negi, Govt. Inter College BHEL, India

Ahmad Riza Wahono, Madrasah Technonatura, Indonesia

Dongmei Yang, Xing’an League Wulanhaote Ninth Middle School, Inner Mongolia

Lorella Carimali, Liceo Scientifico Statale Vittorio Veneto, Italy

Mio Horio, Shiga Prefectural Maibara Senior High School, Japan

Samar Naazal, Female Irbid Preparatory City / UNWRA, Jordan

Abdikadir Ismail, Mwangaza Muslim Mixed Day School, Kenya

Hiba Ballout, Saint George Schools, Lebanon

K.A. RAZHIYAH, Panji Secondary School Kota Bharu, Malaysia

Binod Shahi , Shree Yanger Gumba Primary School, Nepal

Ayodele Odeogbola, Abeokuta Grammar School, Nigeria

Itodo Anthony, Gateway Excel College Otukpo, Nigeria

Barbara Anna Zielonka, Nannestad High School , Norway

Jesus Insilada, Alcarde Gustilo Memorial National High School, Philippines

Ryan Homan, San Jose Elementary School Donsol West District, Philippines

Nataliia Kiseleva, State educational establishment “School 1409”, Russia

Željana Radojičić-Lukić, Elementary school “Milan Rakić” Mionica, Serbia

Wendy Horn, Protea Heights Academy, South Africa

Marjorie Brown, Roedean School, South Africa

Xuxo Ruiz Dominguez, Ceip San Sebastián, Spain

Hamadony Muzafarov “Dunyoi Donish” Tajikistan

Nurten Akkuş, Ayvacık Pre-School, Turkey

Catherine Nakabugo, St.Andrew Kaggwa Gombe High School, Uganda

Andria Zafirakou, Alperton Community School, United Kingdom

Rebecca Cramer, Reach Academy Feltham, United Kingdom

Eartha Pond, The Crest Academy, United Kingdom

Tuesday Humby, Ormiston Chadwick, United Kingdom

Glenn Lee, Waialua High & Intermediate School, United States

Keith Hancock, Tesoro High School , United States

Joseph Underwood, Miami Senior High, United States

Melissa Collins, John P. Freeman Optional School, United States

Akash Patel, Thomas J. Rusk Middle School, United States

Melinda Wilson, Curie Metropolitan High School for the Performing & Technical Arts, United States

Nam Thanh, Vinschool, Vietnam

Follow us on twitter @3television