AITEO CUP 2017: Niger Tornadoes, Rivers Angels Advance To Finals

Agege stadium billed to host men’s final



Niger Tornadoes of Minna have booked a spot in the final of the men’s event of this year’s AITEO Cup (formerly Federation Cup) after edging Ifeanyi Ubah 4-3 on aggregate.

‎’Ikon Allah’ had to dig deep to eliminate reigning champions FC Ifeanyi Ubah in Nnewi, Anambra on Thursday.

Godwin Obaje converted from 12 yards for the hosts in the 85th minutes, the sixth goal in the competition for the 20 year old.

The tally makes  the ex-Étoile Sportive du Sahel forward tied with Akwa United’s Christian Pyagbara, and one more than Sunshine Stars’ Ajibola Otegbeye.

However, it was too little too late for the Anambra Warriors who had lost the first leg 2-4 in Lokoja.

Niger Tornadoes now awaits the winner of the other semi-final match between Akwa United and Sunshine Stars.

Akwa United who lost 1-0 to Sunshine Stars in Ijebu-Ode in the first leg, will host the Duke Udi’s wards in their delayed semifinal, second leg this Sunday.

Women’s Event

In the women’s event, Cup holders Rivers Angels did not make the mistake FC Ifeanyi Ubah made, as they were proficient in front of goal.

The Port-Harcourt based clubside fired four goals past a stubborn Bayelsa Queens, who earned a 2-2 draw in the first leg in Nembe.

They strolled to the final 6-2 on aggregate.

The NFF Appeals Committee will decide the other women’s semifinal, as Abia Angels are appealing their disqualification from the competition on grounds of using an ineligible player against Confluence Queens in the quarter finals.

Semi Finals: 2nd Leg


FC IfeanyiUbah 1-0 Niger Tornadoes (3-4 aggregate)

Akwa United Vs Sunshine Stars (0-1)

* Second leg to take place in Uyo on Sunday, 8th October 2017


Rivers Angels 4-0 Bayelsa Queens (6-2 aggregate)

Agege To Host AITEO Cup Final

Meanwhile, this year’s Cup final will be played at the ‘Soccer Temple’, Agege stadium, Lagos.

Bigwigs of the Nigeria Football Federation, led by President, Amaju Pinnick, carried out an inspection tour of the Agege Stadium ahead of the final of this year’s Aiteo Cup.

The stadium has been picked to host the men’s final of the competition on 15th October, 2017.

Pinnick was joined by 1st Vice President, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, 2nd Vice President/LMC chairman, Shehu Dikko.

Others are, Executive Committee members Sharif Rabiu Inuwa and Aisha Falode.

The team also include, President of the Nigeria Referees Association, Tade Azeez, NFF’s Director of Communications Ademola Olajire and CAF Assistant General Coordinator Samson Adamu

Seyi Akinwunmi and Shehu Dikko, Executive Committee members Sharif Inuwa and Aisha Falode, NRA boss Tade Azeez and Samson Adamu at the Agege Stadium

Speaking after the inspection, Akinwunmi told “There are a few things we have to put right but, generally, we have a good facility here.

“Work will begin on the few areas that we must put right and the other make–shift facilities that we would have to put up to achieve what we are determined to achieve.”

Akinwunmi is the Chairman of the Aiteo Cup Organising Committee,

Last year’s final was played at the Teslim Balogun stadium, Surulere.

Teslim Balogun stadium also hosted the 2007 and 2009 Cup finals.

Agege stadium is home to MFM FC Lagos and could be busy for intercontinental competition next season as the ‘Olukoya Boys’ get set for CAF Champions League football.

Follow us on twitter @3television