France Football Magazine Revealed Ballon d’Or 2017 Nominees

Cristano Ronaldo favourite to retain the crown



The nominees for the 2017 Ballon d’or have been revealed – with Cristiano Ronaldo gunning to match Lionel Messi’s five trophies.

The pair are expected to lead the running in 2017, although the likes of Neymar will hope to have a say.

France Football revealed their 30 nominees on Monday with the ceremony held in London later this month.

The Ballon d’Or, which merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year award from 2010-15 to create the FIFA Ballon d’Or, returned to France Football magazine this year having been established in 1956, and the French weekly magazine opted to stagger the announcement in batches of five.

Kante was the first Premier League nomination, and was soon joined by Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho and Sadio Mane.

Others are, Manchester United’s David de Gea, Tottenham’s Harry Kane, Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard.

2017’s breakout star Kylian Mbappe joined Real Madrid pair Cristiano Ronaldo and Isco in the final wave of nominees.

In fact, the 32-year-old Ronaldo, who helped Real win the Champions League and La Liga last season, is one of seven Real players on the list – the most from any team.

Ligue 1 has four representatives on the shortlist, with Edinson Cavani and Radamel Falcao joining the aforementioned Mbappe and Neymar on the 30-man shortlist following prolific seasons for both in Europe and France.

Here is a list of the contenders

Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain/Brazil)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia)

Paulo Dybala (Juventus/Argentina)

Marcelo (Real Madrid/Brazil)

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea/France)

Luis Suarez (Barcelona/Uruguay)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain)

Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid/Slovenia)

Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool/Brazil)

Dries Mertens (Napoli/Belgium)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/Belgium)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)

David De Gea (Manchester United/Spain)

Harry Kane (Tottenham/England)

Edin Dzeko (Roma/Bosnia)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid/France)

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/Germany)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Senegal)

Radamel Falcao (Monaco/Colombia)

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus/Italy)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund/Gabon)

Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain/Uruguay)

Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich/Germany)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium)

Isco (Real Madrid/Real Madrid)

Kylian Mbappe (Monaco/Paris Saint-Germain/France)

Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/Italy)

Follow us on twitter @3television