INEC Announces Registration of 21 New Parties (Full List)

Sacks 3 Staffs over Governor Yahaya Bellio's double registration



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the registration of 21 new political parties in the country.

In a statement on Thursday, INEC National Commissioner and member, Information and Voter Education Committee, Mrs. May Agbmuche-Mbu says the parties were registered after they fulfilled the requirements provided by the constitution.

This development brings the number of political parties in the country to 67.

The Political parties are:

All Blending Party (ABP), All Grassroots Alliance (AGA), Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP), Coalition for Change (C4C) and Freedom and Justice Party (FJP).

Also registered are Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria (GDPN), Justice Must Prevail Party (JMPP), Legacy Party of Nigeria (LPN).

Mass Action Joint Alliance (MAJA), Modern Democratic Party (MDP), National Interest Party (NIP), National Rescue Mission (NRM) and New Progressive Mission (NPM).

New Progressive Movement (NPM), Nigeria Democratic Congress Party (NDCP), People’s Alliance for National Development and Liberty (PANDEL), People’s Trust (PT) and Providence People’s Congress (PPC) were also registered.

Also on the list are Re-Build Nigeria Party (RBNP), Restoration Party of Nigeria (RP) and Sustainable National Party (SNP).

Sack 3 Staff Over Governor Yahaya Bello’s double registration

Meanwhile, the Commission also approved immediate and compulsory retirement of a member of staff and the dismissal of two others in Kogi office over act of gross misconduct.

It said that the action was taken against the three members of staff over their involvement in alleged double registration of Governor Yahaya Bello in the ongoing Continuous Voter Registration (CVR).

“Following reports of the alleged double registration by the governor of Kogi state in the on-going continuous voter registration (CVR) exercise, the commission set up a panel of investigation into the involvement of staff in the matter,” the statement read.

“The initial report submitted by the panel was referred to the appointment, promotion and disciplinary committee, which made recommendations to the commission.

“While the Governor of Kogi state currently enjoys immunity from prosecution, the commission took the following decisions in respect of its own staff.

”Summary dismissal of two staff for acts of gross misconduct. Immediate and compulsory retirement of an Electoral Officer for act of gross misconduct.”


Anambra Senatorial Re-run election

On the Anambra Central Senatorial re-run election, INEC says it had applied for Certified True Copy of the Federal High Abuja judgment on the election to enable it take a decision.

“It will be recalled that following the judgment of the Court of Appeal, the Commission announced that the outstanding election to fill the vacant seat for the Anambra Central Senatorial District would take place on Jan. 13, 2018.

“However, the attention of the Commission has been drawn to the judgment of the Federal High Abuja on the issue, delivered on Dec. 13, 2017.

“The Commission has applied for Certified True Copy of the judgment to enable us take a decision.”

Follow us on twitter @3television